The Arts at MCHS

“Creativity is Intelligence Having Fun.”

– Albert Einstein

 

 

Our art programs are designed to develop a student’s creative and expressive potential as it relates to creating and appreciating artistic work. The Arts at Marquette Catholic High School experience seeks to provide the student with the skills necessary to recognize and express ideas about an artistic experience, and to develop sensitivity to and appreciation for expressive diversity. These experiences should foster confidence and self-esteem while leading to an awareness of the important role of the arts in human culture. The programs also strive to aid students in identifying their own artistic potential and in developing this to the level of skill necessary to move easily into a college arts curriculum.

 

Arts Calendar 2019-2020

Theater Production

  • November 8 and 9 - "Alexa in Wonderland", 7:30 PM on the Ruth Klaus Stage
  • Wednesday, November 27 - Taken-Jordan Hospital Thanksgiving Holiday Performance, 12:30pm
  • Friday, January 10 - Auditions for Spring Musical
  • April 16, 17, & 18  - Spring Musical, 7:30 on MCHS Stage

Music Performances

  • Wednesday, September 18 - Chorus : Homecoming Mass
  • Sunday, September 22 - Chorus : Mass in the Plaza
  • Friday, October 11- Jacoby Arts Center Benefit Concert
  • Wednesday, November 27 - Taken-Jordan Hospital Thanksgiving Holiday Performance, 12:30pm
  • Friday, December 13, 14, & 15 - Mercy Holiday Concert with the St. Louis Symphony
  • Wednesday, December 25 - Holiday Concert with Raken-Jordan Hospital, afternoon (optional)
  • Friday, January 31 - St. Baldrick's Day Mass
  • Wednesday, February 26 - Ash Wednesday Mass
  • Friday, March 20 - Perform at the Student Art Show at Jacoby Arts Center
  • Thursday, May 14 - Baccalaureate Mass at St. Mary's

Student Visual Arts Show

  • Friday, March 20 - Student Art Show at Jacoby Arts Center 6pm

Illinois High School Association

  • Saturday, March 7 - IHSA Solo & Ensemble Competition

Music Awards Ceremony

  • TBD

National Anthem Solo Performances

  • Varsity Sporting Events
  • Other Community Events

Marquette Chorale Masses

  • Thursday, August 17 - Opening Day School Mass (during school)
  • Friday, September 18 - Homecoming Mass (during school)
  • Friday, November 1 - All Saints Mass (during school)
  • Tuesday, January 28 - Catholic Schools Week Mass with Grade Schools (during school)
  • Wednesday, February 26 - Ash Wednesday Mass (during school)
  • Thursday, May 14 - Baccalaureate Mass at St. Mary's Catholic Church, 7:30 PM