8/19 5:00 PM HOME Blue/Gray Scrimmage    
8/25 8:00 PM HOME Civic Memorial (Jr. Explorers Day) L 16-42
9/1 7:00 PM AWAY Salem L 13-47
12:00 PM
W 49-21
9/15 7:00PM AWAY Harrisburg L 0-47
9/22 7:00 PM HOME Althoff (HOMECOMING) L 0-49
9/29 7:00 PM AWAY Breese Mater Dei L 28-57
10/7 1:00 PM AWAY St. Louis Priory L 0-21
10/14 12:00 PM HOME Fieldcrest (Senior Night) L 12-38
10/20 7:00 PM  HOME
L 14-56
Home games are played at Public School Stadium 1513 State Street, Alton, IL 62002.


3 Thomas Wendle SR WR/DB
4 Lawson Bell SR RB/DB
6 Ethan McLeod FR WR/DB
7 Jack Rea SO QB/DB
9 Dorian Sykes JR WR/DB
10 Alex McCloud JR RB/LB
11 Duarell Blocker SR WR/DB
12 Kalin McGee FR TE/LB
13 Gus Koeller FR WR/DB
17 Ben Droste FR WR/DB
21 Henry Hornsey FR RB/LB
23 Charles Ahne SO WR/DB
28 Joshua Kreitner SR WR/LB
33 Joe Stephan FR RB/LB
51 Carter Dennis SR OL/DL
52 Luke Curry JR OL/LB
55 Sammy Wylie JR OL/DL
60 Dylan Kates FR OL/DL
61 CJ Steib SO OL/DL
69 Jack Beaber SO OL/LB
70 Sean Phillips FR OL/DL
71 Luke Brown  SO OL/DL
72 Simon Waters FR OL/DL
77 Niko Koeller JR OL/DL
81 Aidan Hayes FR WR/DB
85 Brody McCormack FR OL/DL
79B/99W Daelen Marshall FR OL/DL


Marquette Catholic Names Dickerson New Football Head Coach

ALTON - Marquette Catholic High School has named Eric Dickerson to be the school’s Head Football Coach. Coach Dickerson served as a Varsity Coordinator for the football program this past season, and previously was a Varsity Assistant Coach and Coordinator at Marquette Catholic from 2002 - 2006. Current Head Coach Leon McElrath will continue to serve on the staff with the Explorers.

“I am grateful to be back at Marquette Catholic and for this opportunity. I’m thrilled to have the chance to continue to work with Coach Mac and all the great Explorer student-athletes. I look forward to getting things rolling in the off-season,” Dickerson said.


Marquette Catholic football head coach Eric Dickerson.
“I want to thank the administration at Marquette Catholic for giving me the opportunity to lead their football program. I’ve talked to my wife and prayed about it, and I just believe it’s time for Marquette to have a new voice in the head coaching role for the players to rally around. I have nothing but love for these players and look forward to continuing to work with them,” said Coach McElrath.


“I want to thank Coach Mac for all the hard work, dedication, and passion he has put into Marquette Catholic football. He is a tremendous ambassador for our school and a great mentor to our student-athletes. I am excited he has agreed to stay on our staff to help us to continue to build our football program,” Athletic Director Brian Hoener said.

Article continues after sponsor message

“We believe in Coach Dickerson’s vision and plans for Explorer football. He is an experienced head coach who knows our program very well and we look forward to getting back to work,” Hoener added.

Dickerson is a 1996 graduate of Marquette Catholic. He has earned Bachelor of Science in Education and Master of Arts in Education degrees from McKendree University. He has been a varsity football coach for 22 years, with stints at Marquette Catholic, East Alton Wood River, and Alton High, where he served as Head Coach and led the Redbirds to the playoffs in 2017 and 2018.

Dickerson’s 2017 Redbirds playoff victory was only the second in school history, earning him The Alton Telegraph and Belleville News-Democrat Large School Coach of the Year honors.

“This is a proud program. We are closing in on 500 victories. We have faced adversity before and come back. I am committed to doing all we can to do that again,” said Hoener.

About Marquette Catholic High School

Marquette Catholic is a co-educational, college prep school of 400 students in Alton, Illinois, founded in 1927. The football program has won 489 games overall, and has been in the IHSA playoffs 25 times, including three appearances in the quarter-finals, twice appearing in the semi-finals, and once in the State Championship. Explorers Craig Hentrich, Tom Roth, and Michael Ford have played in the NFL, with Ford currently playing for the Atlanta Falcons. Marquette’s athletic teams have won over 130 IHSA Regional, Sectional, or Super-Sectional Championships, and 7 IHSA State Championships.


At Marquette, we take great pride in the winning tradition of our athletic teams. This includes our football program, which has a winning tradition dating back to 1927. Through the 2015 season, the Explorers have advanced to the IHSA State Playoffs nine of the last ten years. 

Through the 2015 season, Marquette has 462 career victories,  22 playoff appearances and nine undefeated seasons. MCHS football has made appearances in the IHSA Elite Eight (Quarterfinals) and Final Four (Semi-Finals), a second place finish in the State Championship. Two longtime football coaches are Illinois Football Coaches Hall of Fame Inductees, Joe Stephan, and John Rogers, while Coach Ron Holtman is a Missouri Sports Hall of Fame inductee. Remarkably, 73% of the 92 Marquette football teams have been coached by only five Head Coaches: Joe Stephan, Ron Holtman, John Rodgers, John Waters, and Mike Slaughter.

Scores of Marquette players have played college football including Divison 1 players John "Jack" Fallon (Notre Dame), Harold Thomeczek (Missouri), Chuck Crumbacher (Missouri), John Dooling (Vanderbilt), Craig Hentrich (Notre Dame), Tom Roth (SIU-Carbondale), Dan McConnell (Notre Dame), David Fitzgerald (Notre Dame), Steven Blair (Missouri), Michael Cook (SEMO), Michael Ford (SEMO). Tom Roth ('86), Craig Hentrich ('89),and Michael Ford ('14), have played professionally in the National Football League (NFL).   

The following is a list of Marquette Head Football Coaches accompanied by their years of service and overall record.


Head Coach Year Record
Doc Coleman (1927 – 1931) 8 – 25 – 2
Cecil Muellerliele (1932 – 1933) 7 – 6
Joe Stephan (1934 – 1954) 116 – 47 – 8
Norman Tomlinson (1940) 6 – 1
Ron Holtman (1955 – 1965) 54 – 40 – 2
John Rogers (1966 – 1983) 94 – 73 – 2
John Waters (1984 – 1993) 64 – 36
Mike Slaughter (1994 – 2002) 44 – 40
Geoff Dalton (2003 – 2004) 1 – 17
Tom Pagliaro (2005 – 2006)  11 – 9
Rick Reinhart (2007 – 2008) 6 – 4
Tim Nelson (2008 – 2012) 

33 – 19

Matt Bucher (2014-2015)


Darrell Angleton (2015-2019)


Leon McElrath III (2020)



Undefeated Regular Seasons
Head Coach Year
Joe Stephan 1943
Joe Stephan 1949
John Rogers 1973
John Rogers 1974
John Rogers 1978
John Rogers 1981
John Rogers 1982
John Waters 1988
Mike Slaughter 2002

Playoff Appearances

Head Coach Year
John Rogers 1974
John Rogers 1975
John Rogers 1978
John Rogers 1979
John Rogers 1981
John Rogers 1982
John Waters 1985
John Waters 1987
John Waters 1988
John Waters 1989
John Waters 1991
Mike Slaughter 2001
Mike Slaughter 2002
Tom Pagliaro    2006  
Rick Reinhart 2007 
Tim Nelson  2008 
Tim Nelson 2009
Tim Nelson 2010 
Tim Nelson 2011
Tim Nelson
Matt Bucher
Darrell Angleton
Darrell Angleton
Darrell Angleton
Darrell Angleton
* the IHSA playoff series began in 1974


Eric Dickerson

Eric Dickerson


Paul Anderson
Simeon Brown
Brandon Buhs
Alex Hamberg
William Sprague

Cahokia Conference All-Conference Team

OL Matthew Dixon JR
OL Colten Roswell JR
Skill Devon Fields SR
Skill Zack Smith SR
DL Colten Roswell JR
DL Xavier Ware SR
LB Luke Daniel SR
LB Jack Robinson FR
Skill Zack Smith SR


Total Program Victories Thru 2019: 487

IHSA State Finals Class 3A: 2nd Place 1982

IHSA State Playoff Semi-Final Appearances: 1982, 1987

IHSA State Playoffs Quarterfinal Appearances: 1982, 1987, 1991, 2012

Playoff Appearances:

1974, 1975, 1978, 1979, 1981, 1982, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1991, 2001, 2002, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019